Blog

Free images - 5 links to sites that work

Royalty free images

Free of charge under reserve

If you are looking for free images for your company blog or privately, you will come across the same problem again and again. Outdated link collections to images, GIFS or pictures that unfortunately no longer work. Either the domain now has a different owner who offers completely different products or the licence model has changed and the rights holder expects money. If you only want to underline the content of your videos or text with your images, you often need good and simple but licence-free images according to the CCO licence.

Free of charge with reservation because: The CC0 licence does provide sufficient legal security between the provider (ideally the author) of the images and the person who uses them (the user). However, especially with online portals, you have no guarantee that the person offering the images or photos in his or her name is actually the author - i.e. the rights holder - of these images.

Observe license information

Always inform yourself about the current license information before using the links listed here. Caution is better than warning letters and legal fees! Things can always change, because nothing is as constant as change. In addition, it is recommended that when using these images - even if it is not explicitly required - still name the author, for example: "BildLandschaftBerge.jpg Copyright by Max Fotomann on unsplash.com". 

People in pictures

Illustrations, photos, short films with people represent a particular legal risk potential.a license agreement that the provider (usually also the author) concludes with the portal or the user concerns exclusively the copyrighted work, i.e. the photo itself. 

Whether the personal rights of the people depicted were respected when the photo was taken, i.e. whether they consented to be photographed and contractually assigned their rights to their own image to the photographer, is something you often cannot find out in the terms and conditions of the download portal. Professional agencies work with contracts when photographing people and the models usually don't do it for free. So be especially careful with pictures of people, because there is quickly the danger of an expensive warning! 

Now, enough of the legalese. Let's move on to the links.


Unsplash

Unsplash.com

Undisputed number 1 with me and many WordPress users. In Unsplash appear in 10 days 10 new high-resolution photos under the CC0 license. The images have an excellent quality. The keyword search function used is fast with good content hit rate. In addition, there are image collections on superordinate topics such as "Novemberrain" or "Strong Men".


LifeOfPix

LifeOfPix
LifeOfPix.com

The insider tip LifeOfPix not only offers pictures but also has a little brother LifeOfVids that provides free videos hosted on Vimeo. LifeOfPix regularly uploads new high-resolution photos in excellent quality via the Leeroy advertising agency in Montreal. The licence notice is somewhat hidden in the About menu. If you like, you can even add your favourite photographer to your list of favourites. 


The U.S. National Archives on Flickr

The US National Archives on Flickr.com

Vintage images from The U.S. National Archives on Flickr. This site lists vintage images from the everyday life of US Americans whose copyrights have expired or are no longer available. Many of the images are from government or agency archives. Unfortunately, there is no search function and you have to click and browse your way through. But then you are rewarded with the occasional impressive snapshot. By the way, the picture in this article is also from this collection.


PublicDomainArchive

Publicdomainarchive.com

This project was allegedly started by a web and graphic designer who also needed royalty-free images for his work. He went searching, found what he was looking for, and then promptly reserved a domain and stored the corresponding images in the database.


Pexels

pexels.com
Pexels.com

With new images every day, Pexels - which currently has over 5000 photos - is reminiscent of Unsplash in terms of its layout. You can find out about the licensing conditions here. The image database contains many images of people. Some of them have impressive motifs.


Unfortunately, the following tips are becoming more and more necessary. Who - like me - has dealt in depth with the Abmahn, DSGVO and UrhG topic, goes even with this harmless blog article on the safe side...

In this context, I would like to draw the reader's attention to the fact that my services do not constitute legal advice, but relate exclusively to the technical and functional areas of a website. Should you require advice on data protection law and copyright, please contact a lawyer or a data protection officer of the authorities. All information and recommendations offered by me are therefore without guarantee and without liability claim. Also in the foreseeable future, necessary adjustments and changes according to the UrhG, the DSGVO, cannot be excluded according to my current knowledge.

And now have fun browsing fantastic and inspiring pictures.


Share:

More from the blog

Matrix image

How blockchain technology works

At BitMinter alone, one of the oldest mining companies on the net, the average computer speed is currently around 3,700 terahash per second.

Leave a message

Payment methods

de-pp_plus-logo-quer_ohne_PUI_540x60px
bank transfer

Shipping with

DHL

Log in

Newsletter subscription

Current information New seminars, tips and tricks around IT.

Blog

Kosten­lo­se Bil­der – 5 Links zu Sei­ten die funktionieren

Lizenz­freie Bilder

Kosten­los unter Vorbehalt

Wer für sei­nen Fir­men­blog oder pri­vat auf der Suche nach kosten­lo­sen Bil­dern ist, stößt immer wie­der auf das glei­che Pro­blem. Ver­al­te­te Link­samm­lun­gen zu Images, GIFS oder Pic­tures die lei­der schon lan­ge nicht mehr funk­tio­nie­ren. Ent­we­der hat die Domain jetzt einen ande­ren Inha­ber, der völ­li­ge ande­re Pro­duk­te anbie­tet oder aber das Lizenz­mo­dell hat sich geän­dert und der Rech­te­inha­ber erwar­tet Geld. Wer mit sei­nen Bil­dern nur den Inhalt sei­ne Vide­os oder Text unter­strei­chen möch­te, benö­tigt oft gute und ein­fa­che aber Lizenz­freie Bil­der nach der CCO ‑Lizenz.

Kosten­los unter Vor­be­halt denn: Zwar bie­tet die CC0-Lizenz eine aus­rei­chen­de Rechts­si­cher­heit zwi­schen dem Anbie­ter (im Ide­al­fall der Urhe­ber) der Bil­der und dem­je­ni­gen, der sie wei­ter­ver­wen­det (der Nut­zer). Jedoch haben Sie gera­de bei Online-Por­ta­len kei­ne Garan­tie, dass der­je­ni­ge, der die Bil­der bzw. Fotos in sei­nem Namen anbie­tet auch tat­säch­lich der Urhe­ber – also Rech­te­inha­ber – die­ser Bil­der ist.

Lizenz­hin­wei­se beachten

Infor­mie­ren Sie sich vor der Ver­wen­dung der hier auf­ge­führ­ten Links immer über die aktu­el­len Lizenz­hin­wei­se. Vor­sicht ist bes­ser als Abmah­nung und Anwalts­ko­sten! Es kann sich immer etwas ändern, denn nichts ist so ste­tig wie der Wan­del. Ausser­dem emp­fiehlt sich bei Ver­wen­dung die­ser Bil­der – auch wenn es nicht aus­drück­lich gefor­dert – trotz­dem den Urhe­ber zu nen­nen, also bei­spiels­wei­se: „BildLandschaftBerge.jpg Copy­right by Max Foto­mann auf unsplash.com”. 

Per­so­nen auf Bildern

Abbil­dun­gen, Fotos, Kurz­fil­me mit Men­schen bil­den ein beson­de­res recht­li­ches Gefahrenpotenzial.Ein Lizenz­ver­trag, den der Anbie­ter ( i.d.R. auch Urhe­ber) mit dem Por­tal oder dem Nut­zer schließt, betrifft aus­schließ­lich das urhe­ber­recht­lich geschütz­te Werk, also das Foto an sich. 

Ob bei der Erstel­lung des Fotos die Per­sön­lich­keits­rech­te der abge­bil­de­ten Men­schen gewahrt wur­de, also ob sie ein­ge­wil­ligt haben, foto­gra­fiert zu wer­den und ihre Rech­te am eige­nen Bild an den Foto­gra­fen ver­trag­lich abge­tre­ten haben, das kön­nen Sie in den Geschäfts­be­din­gun­gen des Down­load-Por­tals oft nicht erfah­ren. Pro­fes­sio­na­le Agen­tu­ren arbei­ten bei Per­so­nen­fo­to­gra­fien mit Ver­trä­gen und die Modells machen das meist nicht kosten­los. Sei­en Sie also bei Bil­dern mit Men­schen beson­ders vor­sich­tig, denn da droht schnell die Gefahr einer teu­ren Abmahnung! 

Jetzt genug der Juri­ste­rei. Kom­men wir zu den Links.


Unsplash

Unsplash.com

Unan­ge­foch­ten Num­mer 1 bei mir und vie­len Wor­d­Press Usern. In Unsplash erschei­nen in 10 Tagen 10 neue hoch­auf­lö­sen­de Fotos unter der CC0-Lizenz. Die Bil­der haben eine her­vor­ra­gen­de Qua­li­tät. Die ver­wen­de­te Such­funk­ti­on für Schlag­wor­te ist schnell mit guter inhalt­li­cher Tref­fer­quo­te. Dar­über­hin­aus gibt es Bil­der­samm­lun­gen zu über­ge­ord­ne­ten The­men­ge­bie­ten wie „Novem­ber­rain“ oder „Strong Men“.


Life­Of­Pix

LifeOfPix
LifeOfPix.com

Der Geheim­tip Life­Of­Pix bie­tet nicht nur Bil­der son­dern hat einen klei­nen Bru­der Life­Of­Vids der freie Vide­os bereit­stellt die bei Vimeo geho­stet wer­den. Bei Life­Of­Pix wer­den regel­mä­ßig neue hoch­auf­lö­sen­de Fotos in aus­ge­zeich­ne­ter Qua­li­tät über die Wer­be­agen­tur Lee­roy in Mont­re­al hoch­ge­la­den. Den Lizenz­hin­weis ist etwas ver­steckt auf im Menü About . Wer möch­te kann hier sogar sei­nen Lieb­lings­fo­to­graf auf die Favo­ri­ten­li­ste setzen. 


The U.S. Natio­nal Archi­ves auf Flickr

The US Natio­nal Archi­ves auf Flickr.com

Alte Bil­der von The U.S. Natio­nal Archi­ves auf Flickr. Die­se Sei­te listet Vin­ta­ge-Bil­der aus dem All­tags­le­ben der US-Ame­ri­ka­ner deren Urhe­ber­rech­te bereits abge­lau­fen oder nicht mehr ver­füg­bar sind. Vie­le der Bil­der stam­men aus Behör­den oder Regie­rungs­ar­chi­ven. Lei­der gibt es kei­ne Such­funk­ti­on und man muss sich müh­sam durch­klicken und stö­bern. Dafür wird man dann mit gele­gent­lich beein­drucken Schnapp­schüs­sen belohnt. Das Bei­trags­bild stammt übri­gens eben­falls aus die­ser Sammlung.


Publi­c­Do­mainAr­chi­ve

Publicdomainarchive.com

Die­ses Pro­jekt wur­de angeb­lich von einem Web- und Gra­fik­de­si­gner ins Leben geru­fen, der für sei­ne Arbeit eben­falls lizenz­freie Bil­der benö­tig­te. Er begab sich auf die Suche, wur­de fün­dig und hat dann kur­zer­hand eine Domain reser­viert und die ent­spre­chen­den Bil­der dort in der Daten­bank abgelegt.


Pexels

pexels.com
Pexels.com

Mit täg­lich neu­en Bil­dern erin­nert Pexels – mit der­zeit über 5000 Fotos – von der Auf­ma­chung her an Unsplash. Die Lizenz­be­din­gu­nen erfährt man hier. In der Bil­der­da­ten­bank fin­den sich sehr vie­le Bil­der mit Per­so­nen. Teil­wei­se mit beein­drucken­den Motiven.


Lei­der wer­den nach­fol­gen­de Hin­wei­se immer not­wen­di­ger. Wer sich – Wie Ich – ein­ge­hen­der mit der Abmahn‑, DSGVO und UrhG-The­ma­tik beschäf­tigt hat, geht selbt bei die­sem harm­lo­sen Blog-Arti­kel auf Num­mer sicher…

Ich möch­te den Leser in die­sem Zusam­men­hang dar­auf auf­merk­sam machen, dass mei­ne Lei­stun­gen kei­ne Rechts­be­ra­tung dar­stel­len, son­dern sich aus­schließ­lich auf die tech­ni­schen und funk­tio­na­len Berei­che einer Web­site bezie­hen. Soll­ten Sie Bera­tung in daten­schutz­recht­li­cher und urhe­ber­recht­li­cher Hin­sicht benö­ti­gen, wen­de sich bit­te an einen Rechts­an­walt oder einen Daten­schutz­be­auf­trag­ten der Behör­den. Alle von mir ange­bo­te­nen Infor­ma­tio­nen und Emp­feh­lun­gen erfol­gen daher ohne Gewähr und ohne Haf­tungs­an­spruch. Auch in abseh­ba­rer Zukunft kön­nen not­wen­di­ge Anpas­sun­gen und Ver­än­de­run­gen nach dem UrhG, der DSGVO, nach mei­nen aktu­el­lem Kennt­nis­stand, nicht aus­ge­schlos­sen werden.

Und nun viel Freu­de beim auf­stö­bern von fan­ta­sti­schen und inspi­rie­ren­den Bildern.


Teilen:

Mehr aus dem Blog

Kri­sen­ge­win­ner

Es geht also doch! Nicht alle lei­den unter den Aus­wir­kun­gen der Coro­­na-Maß­­nah­­men. Dec­a­th­lon hat gera­de benei­dens­wer­te Wachs­tumsor­gen. Die Kri­se hat der in Sachen Digi­ta­li­sie­rung der

Hinterlassen Sie eine Nachricht

© 2020 Privataktionär ALLE RECHTE VORBEHALTEN!

Newsletter Abo

Aktuelles aus Wirtschaft, WordPress, WooCommerce und neue Seminarthemen