Blog

The success of open source content management systems

This is particularly useful for companies that have special requirements that are not met by proprietary software. The large active community of developers also means that problems are usually fixed quickly and further development can proceed rapidly.

Content on this page

Color code example

Market leader WordPress

Open source content management systems (CMS) have become impressively widespread. Like commercial CMSs, they offer users extensive functions for managing and creating websites without requiring in-depth knowledge of web development. The best-known example is WordPress, which is used for about 64% of all websites as of October 2022, according to an analysis by Statista. This makes WordPress the market leader among CMS platforms. Other popular open source CMSs include Joomla and Drupal.

class
Source: Statista.com

Cost effective solution for professional websites

Open source software is software whose source code is freely accessible and modifiable. In contrast, users may only use proprietary software, but not modify it. Also, unlike commercial solutions, no license fees have to be paid for open source software. This is particularly attractive to individuals and small businesses and is one of the main reasons for the success of open source CMS. However, as with commercial solutions, open source CMS may incur costs for hosting, for website design as well as maintenance.

Website functionality of any kind through extensions

Open source CMS - first of all WordPress - are characterized by a large number of plugins and extensions. E-commerce extensions allow users to set up an online store on their website and sell products and services. SEO tools help improve a website's search engine optimization (SEO) by improving on-page optimization and increasing visibility in search results. Form builders allow forms to be embedded on the website to receive feedback or requests from users. Social media extensions integrate platforms like Facebook and Twitter into the CMS so that users can share content on these platforms and easily link to the website from there.

Since the source code of the open source CMS is publicly available, a large number of developers can contribute to it. This leads to a large number of available plugins and extensions for virtually every imaginable feature. This is especially useful for companies that have special requirements that are not met by proprietary software. The large active community of developers also means that problems are usually fixed quickly and further development can proceed rapidly.

Security and support through large community

Another important factor for the success of open source CMS like WordPress is their security. Since the program code is generally visible and reviewed by a large number of developers, security threats can be responded to quickly. Proprietary software, on the other hand, is more likely to contain security vulnerabilities that are not discovered by developers before it is delivered to users. This makes open source CMSs like WordPress a safe choice for businesses, provided general security practices are followed and security updates are installed regularly.

Users also have access to numerous forums and online resources for questions about problems and enhancements to their websites. This support is often better than commercial solutions because it comes from a large community.

Open source CMSs have revolutionized website creation

Overall, the success of open source CMS - and WordPress in particular - has helped make the Internet what it is today. Users can use it to create and manage websites easily and inexpensively. Their license-free nature, flexibility, security, and community support have helped make open source CMS a popular choice for many users - for personal to large corporate websites.

Share:

More from the blog

Blind keyboard for barrier-free Internet

Accessible web design

The Accessibility
Reinforcement Act (BFSG)
On July 22, 2021, the law implementing Directive (EU) 2019/882 of the European Parliament and of the Council on accessibility
requirements for products and services - (Barrierefreiheits
stärkungsgesetz - BFSG ) - was published in the Federal Law Gazette.

Leave a message

Social

© 2024 Training.Internet.Coding privataktionaer.com ALL RIGHTS RESERVED!

Log in

Newsletter subscription

Current information New seminars, tips and tricks around IT.

Blog

Der Erfolg von Open Source Con­tent Manage­ment Systemen

Dies ist besonders n√ľtzlich f√ľr Unternehmen, die spezielle Anforderungen haben, die von propriet√§rer Software nicht erf√ľllt werden. Die gro√üe aktive Gemeinschaft von Entwicklern f√ľhrt auch dazu, dass Probleme in der Regel schnell behoben werden und die Weiterentwicklung schnell voranschreiten kann.

Inhalt auf dieser Seite

Farbiges Code-Beispiel

Markt¬≠f√ľh¬≠rer WordPress

Open Source Con¬≠tent Manage¬≠ment Syste¬≠me (CMS) haben eine beein¬≠drucken¬≠de Ver¬≠brei¬≠tung gefun¬≠den. Wie kom¬≠mer¬≠zi¬≠el¬≠le CMS bie¬≠ten sie Benut¬≠zern umfang¬≠rei¬≠che Funk¬≠tio¬≠nen zur Ver¬≠wal¬≠tung und Erstel¬≠lung von Web¬≠sites, ohne dass tief¬≠grei¬≠fen¬≠de Kennt¬≠nis¬≠se in der Web¬≠ent¬≠wick¬≠lung erfor¬≠der¬≠lich sind. Bekann¬≠te¬≠stes Bei¬≠spiel ist Word¬≠Press, das laut einer Aus¬≠wer¬≠tung der Fa. Sta¬≠ti¬≠sta im Okto¬≠ber 2022 f√ľr etwa 64% aller Web¬≠sites ein¬≠ge¬≠setzt wird. Dies macht Word¬≠Press zum Markt¬≠f√ľh¬≠rer unter den CMS-Platt¬≠for¬≠men. Wei¬≠te¬≠re belieb¬≠te Open Source CMS sind bei¬≠pi¬≠els¬≠wei¬≠se Joom¬≠la und Drupal.

Quel­le: Statista.com

Kosten¬≠g√ľn¬≠sti¬≠ge L√∂sung f√ľr pro¬≠fes¬≠sio¬≠nel¬≠le Websites

Open Source Soft¬≠ware ist Soft¬≠ware, deren Quell¬≠code frei zug√§ng¬≠lich und modi¬≠fi¬≠zier¬≠bar ist. Im Gegen¬≠satz dazu d√ľr¬≠fen Nut¬≠zer pro¬≠prie¬≠t√§¬≠re Soft¬≠ware ledig¬≠lich benut¬≠zen, aber nicht √§ndern. Auch m√ľs¬≠sen f√ľr Open Source-Soft¬≠ware im Gegen¬≠satz zu kom¬≠mer¬≠zi¬≠el¬≠len L√∂sun¬≠gen kei¬≠ne Lizenz¬≠ge¬≠b√ľh¬≠ren gezahlt wer¬≠den. Dies ist beson¬≠ders f√ľr Ein¬≠zel¬≠per¬≠so¬≠nen und klei¬≠ne Unter¬≠neh¬≠men attrak¬≠tiv und einer der Haupt¬≠gr√ľn¬≠de f√ľr den Erfolg von Open Source CMS. Wie bei kom¬≠mer¬≠zi¬≠el¬≠len L√∂sun¬≠gen k√∂n¬≠nen aber auch bei Open Source-CMS Kosten f√ľr Hosting, f√ľr Web¬≠site-Design sowie War¬≠tung anfallen.

Web­site-Funk­tio­na­li­tät jeder Art durch Erweiterungen

Open Source CMS ‚Äď allen vor¬≠an Word¬≠Press ‚Äď zeich¬≠nen sich durch eine Viel¬≠zahl von Plug¬≠ins und Erwei¬≠te¬≠run¬≠gen aus. E‚ÄĎCom¬≠mer¬≠ce-Erwei¬≠te¬≠run¬≠gen erm√∂g¬≠li¬≠chen es Nut¬≠zern, einen Online-Shop auf ihrer Web¬≠site ein¬≠zu¬≠rich¬≠ten und Pro¬≠duk¬≠te und Dienst¬≠lei¬≠stun¬≠gen zu ver¬≠kau¬≠fen. SEO-Tools hel¬≠fen bei der Ver¬≠bes¬≠se¬≠rung der Such¬≠ma¬≠schi¬≠nen¬≠op¬≠ti¬≠mie¬≠rung (SEO) einer Web¬≠sei¬≠te, indem sie die On-Page-Opti¬≠mie¬≠rung ver¬≠bes¬≠sern und die Sicht¬≠bar¬≠keit in den Such¬≠ergeb¬≠nis¬≠sen erh√∂¬≠hen. Mit For¬≠mu¬≠lar-Buil¬≠dern las¬≠sen sich For¬≠mu¬≠la¬≠re auf der Web¬≠sei¬≠te ein¬≠bet¬≠ten, um Feed¬≠back oder Anfra¬≠gen von Benut¬≠zern zu erhal¬≠ten. Social-Media-Erwei¬≠te¬≠run¬≠gen inte¬≠grie¬≠ren Platt¬≠for¬≠men wie Face¬≠book und Twit¬≠ter in das CMS, so dass Nut¬≠zer Inhal¬≠te auf die¬≠sen Platt¬≠for¬≠men tei¬≠len und von dort aus ein¬≠fach auf die Web¬≠site ver¬≠lin¬≠ken k√∂nnen.

Da der Quell¬≠code der Open Source CMS √∂ffent¬≠lich zug√§ng¬≠lich ist, kann eine gro¬≠√üe Zahl von Ent¬≠wick¬≠lern dar¬≠an mit¬≠wir¬≠ken. Dies f√ľhrt zu einer gro¬≠√üen Anzahl von ver¬≠f√ľg¬≠ba¬≠ren Plug¬≠ins und Erwei¬≠te¬≠run¬≠gen f√ľr prak¬≠tisch jedes erdenk¬≠li¬≠che Fea¬≠ture. Dies ist beson¬≠ders n√ľtz¬≠lich f√ľr Unter¬≠neh¬≠men, die spe¬≠zi¬≠el¬≠le Anfor¬≠de¬≠run¬≠gen haben, die von pro¬≠prie¬≠t√§¬≠rer Soft¬≠ware nicht erf√ľllt wer¬≠den. Die gro¬≠√üe akti¬≠ve Gemein¬≠schaft von Ent¬≠wick¬≠lern f√ľhrt auch dazu, dass Pro¬≠ble¬≠me in der Regel schnell beho¬≠ben wer¬≠den und die Wei¬≠ter¬≠ent¬≠wick¬≠lung schnell vor¬≠an¬≠schrei¬≠ten kann.

Sicher­heit und Sup­port durch gro­ße Community

Ein wei¬≠te¬≠rer wich¬≠ti¬≠ger Fak¬≠tor f√ľr den Erfolg von Open Source CMS wie Word¬≠Press ist ihre Sicher¬≠heit. Da der Pro¬≠gramm¬≠code all¬≠ge¬≠mein ein¬≠seh¬≠bar ist und von einer gro¬≠√üen Zahl von Ent¬≠wick¬≠lern √ľber¬≠pr√ľft wird, kann schnell auf Sicher¬≠heits¬≠be¬≠dro¬≠hun¬≠gen reagiert wer¬≠den. Pro¬≠prie¬≠t√§¬≠re Soft¬≠ware hin¬≠ge¬≠gen kann eher Sicher¬≠heits¬≠l√ľcken ent¬≠hal¬≠ten, die von den Ent¬≠wick¬≠lern nicht ent¬≠deckt wer¬≠den, bevor sie an den Nut¬≠zer aus¬≠ge¬≠lie¬≠fert wird. Dies macht Open Source CMS wie Word¬≠Press zu einer siche¬≠ren Wahl f√ľr Unter¬≠neh¬≠men, wenn dabei all¬≠ge¬≠mei¬≠ne Sicher¬≠heits¬≠prak¬≠ti¬≠ken befolgt und regel¬≠m√§¬≠√üig Sicher¬≠heits¬≠up¬≠dates instal¬≠liert werden.

F√ľr Fra¬≠gen zu Pro¬≠ble¬≠men und Erwei¬≠te¬≠run¬≠gen ihrer Web¬≠sites ste¬≠hen Nut¬≠zern fer¬≠ner zahl¬≠rei¬≠che Foren und Online-Res¬≠sour¬≠cen zur Ver¬≠f√ľ¬≠gung. Die¬≠se Unter¬≠st√ľt¬≠zung ist oft bes¬≠ser als bei kom¬≠mer¬≠zi¬≠el¬≠len L√∂sun¬≠gen, da sie von einer gro¬≠√üen Com¬≠mu¬≠ni¬≠ty ausgeht.

Open-Source-CMS haben die Erstel­lung von Web­sites revolutioniert

Ins¬≠ge¬≠samt hat der Erfolg von Open Source CMS ‚Äď und dabei beson¬≠ders Word¬≠Press ‚Äď dazu bei¬≠getra¬≠gen, das Inter¬≠net zu dem zu machen, was es heu¬≠te ist. Nut¬≠zer k√∂n¬≠nen damit ein¬≠fach und kosten¬≠g√ľn¬≠stig Web¬≠sites erstel¬≠len und ver¬≠wal¬≠ten. Ihre Lizenz¬≠frei¬≠heit, Fle¬≠xi¬≠bi¬≠li¬≠t√§t, Sicher¬≠heit und Com¬≠mu¬≠ni¬≠ty-Unter¬≠st√ľt¬≠zung haben dazu bei¬≠getra¬≠gen, dass Open Source CMS zu einer belieb¬≠ten Wahl f√ľr vie¬≠le Nut¬≠zer gewor¬≠den sind ‚Äď f√ľr pri¬≠va¬≠te bis hin zu gro¬≠√üen Unternehmens-Websites.

Teilen:

Mehr aus dem Blog

Weisser alter Aktenschrank mit Karteikarten

Back¬≠up-Stra¬≠te¬≠gie f√ľr Ihre Webseite

‚ĶInkre¬≠men¬≠tell hei√üt, dass die seit dem letz¬≠ten Back¬≠up neu¬≠en Datei¬≠en gesi¬≠chert wer¬≠den. Dif¬≠fe¬≠ren¬≠zi¬≠ell hei√üt, dass Datei¬≠en gesi¬≠chert wer¬≠den, die sich seit dem‚Ķ

Matrixbild

Wie funk­tio­niert die Blockchain-Technologie

Allei­ne bei Bit­Min­ter, einem der älte­sten Mining­un­ter­neh­men im Netz, liegt die durch­schnitt­li­che Com­pu­ter-Geschwin­dig­keit bei der­zeit ca. 3.700 Tera­hash pro Sekunde.

Hinterlassen Sie eine Nachricht

Zahlungsmethoden

de-pp_plus-logo-quer_ohne_PUI_540x60px
ueberweisung

Versand mit

DHL

Anmelden

Newsletter Abo

Aktuelle Informationen Neue Seminare, Tips und Tricks rund um die IT.